Shaking Off the Cobwebs

The dreaded noise of my morning alarm is the sound I hate most in all the world but when it rings at 5:30 A.M. I can only help but draw a small grin that reaches ear to ear.

Why you ask? Is it a birthday? No not until November. So is it a wedding? No I don’t plan on being a groom in the near, if at all, future. Graduation? Been there and done that!

It’s the first trackday of the season is why!

Those magical few hours that boys and their toys really get to act like boys with toys. I spent all winter waiting in high gear anticipation for the start of riding season but it was the start of the track season that had my palms sweaty, heart beating faster than a chipmunk in heat and eyes looking left and right searching for the next apex. Albeit all this happens while I spend sleepless nights watching race videos through my smartphone.

After last season and the offs I had I decided over winter that this season I will take a step back and refine my riding at my own pace. To do this I had spent the last few months in search of parts, upgrades and spares all in order to help alleviate any problems that can occur during this season.

New Dress

New Dress

New Legs

Sitting Pretty

With the first session missed, due to arriving late, I had a decent amount of time to get set up not only my physical place but mentally as well.

Much of tracking motorcycles depends on some parts physical but many parts mental. If you reach a blockade mentally it will be hard to become faster. Balls, you must need them when riding two wheels.

I spent the next session and several after that getting used to my new setup in its more natural place of play, the bends and ups and downs of a racetrack. Although I wont receive the prints I bought through the photographer at the track for a few weeks these will have to do for the time being.

Oh did I mention Lo-Riderz was in attendance?

Sako Long's 50th Scheme R1

Sako Long’s 50th Scheme R1

Loud Pipe Dreams

Loud Pipe Dreams

Jesse Graham is My Twin

Jesse Graham is My Twin

Sam Song's McDonald Inspired Art Work

Sam Song’s McDonald Inspired Art Work

DAT OHLINS

DAT OHLINS

Evan Chateauneuf's Kawi - NOT A YAMAHA

Evan Chateauneuf’s Kawi – NOT A YAMAHA

Dat Nguyen's Track Official

Dat Nguyen’s Track Official

Tony's Track Days Shout Out

Tony’s Track Days Shout Out

David Nguyen's Suzuki w/Custom Love Fairings

David Nguyen’s Suzuki w/Custom Love Fairings

KC's Transformed 50th Anniversary R6

KC’s Transformed 50th Anniversary R6

Smoking

Smoking Footwork

A Front End to Make Any Mother Proud

A Front End to Make Any Mother Proud

Squat City

Squat City

Everyone has their own flavor that they like and enjoy. These steeds helps them accomplish their pursuit of speed and that adrenaline rush that we search for and lack of over winter.

But with speed comes the downside of a low side, or worse, a high side. Luckily for a few of the guys that day a low side was the only thing on the menu. Going down is no one’s favorite cup of tea as I can attest to this, but a crash is something to be studied, analyzed and solved so that you don’t repeat the same mistakes again.

Jerry and His Duc

Jerry and His Duc

Wires to Fire Up

Wires to Fire Up

Springs a Missing Here

Springs a Missing Here

Half Heart Spinning

Half Heart Spinning

Sometimes is more than mechanical problems that arise. Riders can get hurt too. Due to advances in gear technology all of this was prevented as well.

Dust Dust Dust

Dust Yourself Off & Try It Again

Can Be Buffed Out

Can Be Buffed Out

Gear Up for the Slide. Not the Ride.

Gear Up for the Slide. Not the Ride.

Bobby came out unscathed from his high speed tumble.

As mentioned some of the guys:

Mean Mugging Sako Long.

Mean Mugging Sako Long.

Sako is a long seasoned trackday rider. He specializes in going fast and whooping ass. He teaches too. I’d be intimidated!

Chris Chau's Fancy

Chris Chau’s Fancy

This was his first trackday. EVER. And to no one’s surprised, he loved it!

DSC_9031TTDMAY2013

Mr. Chat.

Here is our local speed demon. He is quite fast. Take my word for it.

Who You Looking At

Who You Looking At

Dave came into the paddock shouting ‘GUYS! Be proud! I dragged knee!’ And I was proud. My man.

I spent my day relearning, filming and reviewing my lines, tip in point, braking zone, reference markers and the likes. It got off to a slow start, literally and figuratively, but by the end of the day I really felt like I can get back into the swing of things. Here is a short video towards the end of the day’s sessions:

My Monday was spent very well if you asked me. It really was a mini vacation away from my two jobs, even if it was for a few hours. Until New Jersey I will have to sit and wait patiently. Maybe my palms will sweat profusely a few more nights until I can get my fix again.

Leave a comment