LRRS Round 7 | The Closer

Let’s start off by saying it was one hell of a year! From the initial planning stages, they were more of just binge eating with some notes jotted down, to the final round of racing it was a lot to digest. We started the season with five healthy, hungry racers but unfortunately due to injuries we finished with just one, myself, on that lonely Sunday. It was very bittersweet to say the least because of what a great season we had overall. Everyone made strides and gains in their racing and it even saw three of us getting the bump to the next class.

My only advice to people is to find what you're passionate for in life and do everything you can to live it out. If you can do that then life becomes an interesting adventure.

My only advice to people is to find what you’re passionate for in life and do everything you can to live it out. If you can do that then life becomes an interesting adventure.

 

Two more races on the clock for today and it'll be a wrap on #LRRS2016.

Two more races on the clock for today and it’ll be a wrap on #LRRS2016.

Although the weather was not like that of last year, rather cold and chances of rain throughout, I still finished off the season with a smile from ear to ear. I wanted to capitalize on my last round’s success by cutting some more tenths out of my times and finally hitting the 19s but unfortunately it didn’t come to fruition. I can chalk round 7 up to be the only round where I didn’t make forward progress in lap times. I can’t attribute this to any one particular reason and the crash certainly didn’t affect my riding, maybe you are allowed to off an off day when you go road racing.

Scuffed leathers give you character.

Scuffed leathers give you character.

I cant really remember where I finished in most of my races but I do remember not dying after the GTU. I hated that race the most when I first did it, even pitting in early, and nearly died of exhaustion the second time, but third time’s the charm right?! By the time the halfway flag was waving I was surprisingly shocked it was almost over and I wasn’t as tired as I used to be. GTU is a very good race though, I usually do my fastest times in this race even though its grueling. During the off season I am making it a point to step up my conditioning.

The Devil is in the Details

I live by the motto of “Keep Pushing it Forward.” If you’re not progressing and moving forward in your life then what are you really doing? The people you surround yourself with should always be pushing you to do better and you should always be happy whenever they’re doing the same.

Racing my boss is another one of those things I have come to expect during the season now that I am an amateur. After what happened the last round the jokes are still going strong. Each time he passes me he slows down, turns around, waves and keep going only to do it again a few corners later. It’s all in good fun as I am always trying to chase him down. The goal here is to pass him one day and be the one DOING THE WAVING!

I have enough footage and notes to mull myself over this winter as the off season comes near. Looking back on it though with the amount of time, money and effort we all put in it sure was tiring but well worth it all. I can imagine myself spending said time, money and effort in other facets of my life but to be honest motorcycles have really got its hold on me.

"You never see a motorcycle parked outside of a psychiatrist's office."

“You never see a motorcycle parked outside of a psychiatrist’s office.”

Oh note that I ALSO GOT MY FIRST PODIUM IN THE AMATEUR CLASS!

wp-1477156751296.jpg

I want to really thank everyone who’ve supported not only myself but my entire team (@omgitzchr1s, @pg_racing809, @datguy324, @sacha_genesis) over the last year from those who gave us kind words on our adventure, to coming up & watching us rip it out there. Without you guys and gals this would never be possible! We’re already looking forward to 2017!!

Signing off on a great year of road racing – see you in 2017!

wp-1477153156887.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

