LRRS Round 6 | The Comedic Relief

When the helmet goes on nothing else around you really matters. All your attention & focus goes into one thing & one thing only. You can't trade that feeling for anything else in the world.

When the helmet goes on nothing else around you really matters. All your attention & focus goes into one thing & one thing only. You can’t trade that feeling for anything else in the world.

LRRS Round 6 was definitely something different. I started it out feeling like instant crap due to sickness from stress but that all went away with Saturday’s morning practice, funny how motorcycles tend to be the best stress reliever.

Right on the back wheel of Devin during the morning's practice sessions

Right on the back wheel of Devin during the morning’s practice sessions

I had only GTU and Unlimited AM GP for this day. After my last outing in GTU I vowed never again but here I was lining up. The start was red flagged, tough since I had such a good one too, we all know restarts tend to suck, mine did at least. The only goal was to stay constant on pace and FINISH the race. I’m glad to report I did just that and dropped the laptimes to a PB of 1:20.7XX, improvement every round πŸ™Œ. The last third of race was my worse though, realizing I need to work on my endurance as I dropped four places in the closing laps.

 

wp-1474128910426.jpg

Improvements each and every round so far this season has been great to say the least.

 

Following Tyler deep into T1.

Following Tyler deep into T1

AM Unlimited GP, this was a funny race only because I knew going I will spend the race thinking “When will he lap me by? 3rd? 4th? 5th lap maybe? Ha. Well before that I felt really good in the first half of the race, sticking in behind Tyler Hale, for as long as possible. After doing the GTU an 8 lap sprint doesn’t seem too bad anymore. Well by lap four the boss man showed up on the inside of three and decided to take off not before a friendly wave though. In my excitement i waved back and thought maybe I could follow him, why not learn from the best right? Also in my excitement I ripped the throttle a wee bit more and that sent me flying through the air. I came down and splayed out on my back, my helmets spoiler smashed the pavement first and the dispersion of energy through the lid was almost immediately felt. Luckily I stayed conscious the entire time. Just bruised and battered but luckily nothing more. We all had a good laugh about it afterwards and let’s say that work is a little bit more comedic as of late.

 

wp-1474128901022.jpg

“He blew by me and waved and I was all like ‘HIIIIIIIII’ and waved back and then I was just like ‘BRAPPPP’ and next thing I knew I was flying through the air πŸ›«πŸ›¬βœˆοΈ all pewpewpew like.” My attempt to explain to my friends what happened in the last race πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚.

 

I'd like to thank @agvhelmets for making a spectacular helmet that saved my nogging after a high side yesterday.

I’d like to thank @agvhelmets for making a spectacular helmet that saved my nogging after a high side yesterday.

With the crash it pretty much ended my weekend as my shoulder felt way to sore for me to want to ride on Sunday. Not much of a report but I definitely want to thank AGV Helmets and Dainese for keeping me intact and one piece! Woodcraft Technologies for the hard parts doing their job, only needing me to replace a bar, peg and slider puck! As well as all my other sponsors: DRT Sport, Signature Designz, GMD Computrack, Navigation Brewing Co., Set-Motive Apparel and Lo-Riderz Motorsports πŸ’ͺ🀘.

Now it’s time to get ready for the season ender!

Leave a Reply

