Dealing With Yamaha’s R1 Recall

By now every single 2015 Yamaha R1 owner must have

  1. gotten wind of the transmission recall on the machine (unless you truly lived under a rock and have the recall wp-1451855850259.jpgletter sent to you)
  2. consulted the great minds of the internet forums to divvy up solutions to how to solve this problem (and to bitch and moan that Yamaha dropped the ball on this one, but did they really?)
  3. started making arrangements to get their recall performed or the much more preferred
  4. gotten their bike back from their dealers after the work is done, with hopes of no oil leaks.

Since getting my own letter I have called the dealership in which I bought my R1 from, making arrangements myself to drop it off to have the work performed. The gripe with buying a bike at such a great deal was that my dealership was in upstate NY, a six hour roundtrip that needed to be done twice. I really didn’t want to have to do this trip whatsoever, specially in the dead of winter.

I did call a couple of dealerships near me both being completely unhelpful in their solutions. One, Hudson Cycle Center, informed me they were only taking VINs from bikes they sold first, which made sense, but then told me that because it was winter they weren’t taking in any bikes and to call back in the spring time. What? This really made no sense to me.

I tried Billerica Motorsports & Marine Inc. after this to no surprise was of no help at all. Blatantly told me it wasn’t their problem and they weren’t going to take any jobs irregardless if they sold any (which I heard they didn’t anyways). I hope Yamaha Motors USA gets a hold of how their dealers are treating consumers who buy their products in such great fashion.

On the day I was suppose to drop off the motorcycle in NY I was luckily enough to call a racer buddy of mine who works for Plaistow Powersports in Plaistow, NH. They told me they had three in their shop already awaiting to go the recall work and would gladly take mine, almost immediately. The service guy was knowledgable as to what was going on with Yamaha and the entire recall and really put me at ease as to the whole process. It also didn’t hurt that they are only about a 25 minute ride from my house, one of which I actually rode the bike there. Now I sit back and wait until I get the phone call from my tech to pick up. Hopefully with no oil leaks!

The internet didn’t waste time to jump on this and blow it out of proportion. Forums, Facebook, any social media really has taken what used to be a simple “Hey this is the factory letting you know there MIGHT be something wrong with your vehicle so bring it on back and we will take care of everything” into a frenzy of freak outs, specially on the R1 forums (can be read here: http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/441-2015-yamaha-r1m-recalls/531753-2015-r1-m-transmission-recall.html.)

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 4.37.46 PM

No one other than this guy has really been overly dramatic about this whole ordeal. Daily he would post about his anger with Yamaha and how is he going to sell it because he doesn’t care what happens, deeming the bike he loved so much prior to this is now JUNK. I laughed every time I read his posts. Other forums have caught on and see this thread for the ridiculousness it’s become. People should really calm down.

Another great thing are posts making fun of the recall that coincides with current events like these:

Sit back and relax people – I think Yamaha got this one.

4 responses to “Dealing With Yamaha’s R1 Recall

  1. How long has everyone’s bikes been in the shop? Mine is going on 6 weeks and the dealer still does not have the parts! What is Yamaha going to do for us? Really considering heading to the dealership and trading It in. Might as well jump on the BMW 1000 RR band wagon. I paid cash for something I road for 2 weeks. Total disappointment.

    • Mine was at a local dealer for 1.5 weeks from drop off to pick up. It’s a hit or miss. My dealer luckily did good work and got parts in quickly. Hold out for now, Yamaha will take care of you and another option is take to a dealer you know has done the work already.

      • The dealer has only received one transmission from Yamaha and mine is number two on the list. Not to mention there are eight bikes behind mine. The disappointing thing is I have already put a grand into the bike and I have another 2k in parts waiting to be installed.

    • It’s winter where I live so if it’s warm where you are I can imagine the angst to get going. Just make sure when they do get around to yours it’ll be done to Yamaha’s spec. so no problems occur.

Leave a Reply

