New England’s Autumn

This is my favorite season of the year hands down. From the fresh, crisp morning air that could certainly clear the most clogged of nostrils to the copious amounts to sweaters stowed away in the back closet waiting to be unleashed upon the season nothing beats autumn in New England for me. It is all made better with the changing of the leaves, which by the way draws in the masses from all over the north east, now pretty much in its peak for the season.

I woke myself up before there was even sunlight out, picked up my companions and made the two hour drive north just to witness this changing of the leaves. We were on the road by 7:30 am without another soul in sight, for a while at least, making good time to see a lot of festive reds, yellows and oranges in the mountain tops and valley lows across a 30 mile stretch. My usual path is head to Lincoln, NH then take the Kanc all the way to Bear Notch Road and then the 302 to circle back around towards Echo Lake and Franconia Notch.

To be honest anywhere up this north is a great time, get lost, find new things and have an adventure.

It was a somewhat cloudy morning as this photo can attest but later on in the day proved to be a beaut.

It was a somewhat cloudy morning as this photo can attest but later on in the day proved to be a beaut.

I couldn't resist taking a GoPro selfie.

I couldn’t resist taking a GoPro selfie.

I suppose this is how onlookers see me.

I suppose this is how onlookers see me.

Even in the forest you get to see some great things like the rays of sun peeking through the colorful leaves.

Even in the forest you get to see some great things like the rays of sun peeking through the colorful leaves.

Quite surrounded.

Quite surrounded.

Silver Cascade. I saw this for the first time in '08 and for quite some time I spent searching for it. You can pretty much see why.

Silver Cascade. I saw this for the first time in ’08 and for quite some time I spent searching for it. You can pretty much see why.

What was behind the picturesque scene above? Why this quite tall mountain in the distance.

What was behind the picturesque scene above? Why this quite tall mountain in the distance.

Echo Lake stands to be one of my favorite places to visit. Only made better by the fall weather. Less crowds and more of this.

Echo Lake stands to be one of my favorite places to visit. Only made better by the fall weather. Less crowds and more of this.

At another scenic point I already saw snow set onto the tip of this vista point. It's more magical when only a small blanket of white covers a vast scene of fire reds, yellows and oranges.

At another scenic point I already saw snow set onto the tip of this vista point. It’s more magical when only a small blanket of white covers a vast scene of fire reds, yellows and oranges.

If you haven’t made way north as of yet this season you should immediately. These views don’t last too long before they are spoiled by the first frost and everything gets itself ready for the long winter months.

Leave a Reply

