Meet My Marauder: Toyota 4Runner

I haven’t posted much as of late because of so many things going on with both my jobs, personal life, race team and motorcycles in general that I have been neglecting my blog space until now!

During the interim of the last post to this one I decided enough was enough with my little Subaru STi hatchback that I was seriously looking into trading her in for something bigger – much bigger. After careful financial consideration and a whole lot of number crunching I settled my sights on acquiring a new 2015 Toyota 4Runner Trail model.

Why you ask? Because it’s bigger, badder and can go off road! Not to mention the immense storage space for all my race gear, tow capabilities (up to 4700lbs), tech features (which are great and eons ahead of what my Subaru offered) and of course Toyota reliability (I was always checking oil levels and up keeping my little hot hatch.)

I headed off to one of my local dealers, Ira of Danvers, where I dealt with a pleasant sales team and would recommend to other buyers because they had such a base model Trail in stock. After my test drive I was seriously considering signing then and there but decided to walk and sleep on it even after all my demands and pricing was met – a guy needs to think about this you know!

Didn’t take long as when they called me the next day I ended up taking their offer on coming in that night to look over it all before giving them my John Hancock. So what did I get? Well a pretty solid base Trail edition in altitude black but I demanded it be fitted with heated leather seats and of course a moon roof. This cause a delay in vehicle pickup so I was stuck with my Subaru for a whole of five more days. The tradeoff of waiting was well worth it!

She is VERY large

She is VERY large

I really need sliders to get into this thing

I really need sliders to get into this thing

The front is so different, dare I say so ugly, that I just love it

The front is so different, dare I say so ugly, that I just love it

From the passenger side it is very roomy all the way around

From the passenger side it is very roomy all the way around

Also feels good to be bigger than 90% of all other vehicles on the road

Also feels good to be bigger than 90% of all other vehicles on the road

The leather and moon roof addition turned out to be great and really sets off the interior of the offroader. Honestly I am very happy with this purchase as it is also an automatic I no longer have to worry about whether or not people can drive stick – every one can drive her now but no one will!

Plans for down the road do include a Gobi rack/ladder, a modest lift kit, sliders, TRD wheels and of course beefier tires for those offroad camping excursions. That new car leather smell is still lingering so excuse me while I go take a whiff.

Selfies - because they are needed

Selfies – because they are needed

Leave a Reply

