LRRS Round 1: 6 Days

In six days we will be loading the trailers and truck with what we hope will be everything we need in order to run a successful first round of the Loudon Road Race Series. It is officially now CRUNCH TIME!

To follow up on a few posts ago about how to drill bolts for safety wiring this post will show you what the end product of my labor has accomplished. Be warned that what follows may not be pretty!

As per regulation both exhaust bolts of the two outer ports must be safety drilled

As per regulation both exhaust bolts of the two outer ports must be safety drilled

I didn't think I could managed this but with the help of a friend these bolts aren't going anywhere.

I didn’t think I could managed this but with the help of a friend these bolts aren’t going anywhere.

To make sure it doesn't fall off the exhaust bracket bolt holding it to the rearset is also drilled.

To make sure it doesn’t fall off the exhaust bracket bolt holding it to the rearset is also drilled.

Stahlbus oil drain kit was installed prior to my ownership. Once installed these things are permanent so you must safety wire them too. Luckily they make race cap versions for safety wire applications.

Stahlbus oil drain kit was installed prior to my ownership. Once installed these things are permanent so you must safety wire them too. Luckily they make race cap versions for safety wire applications.

Front brake calipers are drilled, torqued and wired.

Front brake calipers are drilled, torqued and wired.

As is the rear calipers. Note these were much easier to do than the front. I marked where I wanted to drill before I took them off - makes it EASIER!

As is the rear calipers. Note these were much easier to do than the front. I marked where I wanted to drill before I took them off – makes it EASIER! Note the rear axle is drilled as well & wired to the axle block.

Front axle and pinch bolts are of no difference. I wired my Woodcraft front axle slider through the two front bolts making one easy pass.

Front axle and pinch bolts are of no difference. I wired my Woodcraft front axle slider through the two front bolts making one easy pass.

Going with the theme of all fluid caps need to be up to spec here you see mine oil dipstick wired to my lower fairing bracket.

Going with the theme of all fluid caps need to be up to spec here you see mine oil dipstick wired to my lower fairing bracket.

As well as my oil filler cap conveniently attached to my GB Racing clutch cover.

As well as my oil filler cap conveniently attached to my GB Racing clutch cover.

The rad cap pinned down to the rad fan bolts.

The rad cap pinned down to the rad fan bolts.

Things seem to be coming to speed at a faster rate than I had planned but there are a few things left to be done at this point:

  • Safety wire oil filter
  • Drain coolant and fill with water wetter/distilled water
  • Grab decals and put them onto the body work
  • Put back on the body work
  • Drill hole in belly pan for wet weather racing

This is just what’s on the top of my head. I’m losing Saturday of this weekend so that leaves me with realistically SUNDAY to finish everything else I need to do. Crunch time indeed.

Leave a Reply

