Yamaha R6 Hand & Feet Control Makeover

The deliveryman was kind enough over the last couple of days between Christmas and New Years to deliver a multitude of packages to my door. Who doesn’t love it when they see the delivery truck coming up the hill and around the corner from their home? I surely still get excited.

I was waiting from a few packages to help further crash proof my motorcycle; look for a blog post at a later date on how to crash proof your own bike, for the upcoming race season. I forgot how busy the delivery season could be during the holidays, so I had to order early and wait a couple of extra days to get them even though it’s winter. With this in mind an order for new hand and feet controls were placed!

The few of many boxes to come during the race build.

The few of many boxes to come during the race build.

Currently my race bike is decked out with the best OEM handlebars Yamaha can offer! But let’s us be honest here, one low side and you will have more of a problem on your hands, literally, than you had bargain for. Woodcraft makes amazing, affordable units for R6 not to mention a multitude of other makes and models. I run these on my street bike, which survived two low sides on the right and each time they have held up beautifully. Well worth the investment not only on the durability but also the price on the replacement bars, coming in at $10-15 a bar its about 50% cheaper than other brands. Woodcraft is a local, to MA, company so why not support local business!

You can always depend on American made and local companies to come through with the best products.

You can always depend on American made and local companies to come through with the best products.

Sticking to the theme of hand controls I opted for a quicker throttle ratchet system than the current OEM unit. Don’t get me wrong the OEM does its job but on long front straights I would like the ability to ratchet the throttle with a shorter throw to WOT than what I have now. Pro Motion REV2 unit was ordered up because this kit includes a variety of throttle ratios that can be changed out on the fly to suit the track you are at. It also adds in the extra bling factor if you will!

I had ordered a set of Renthal soft compound grips before I had known that the Pro Motion throttle kit came with their own. So why did I choose the Renthal soft? Well it was simple, I run them on my street bike and the soft compounds helped alleviate the vibration numbness one gets when on track for a whole session.

Grips that will stand up to most low sides. Soft compounds so it'll be easier on the hand numbness.

Grips that will stand up to most low sides. Soft compounds so it’ll be easier on the hand numbness.

I mentioned before that Woodcrafts make great products for any type of bikes but when it comes down to their rearsets I must say there is something left to be desired with me. The one on my bike sadly is in standard shift pattern, which I would’ve preferred to be in GP pattern. Normally you can switch the knuckle on the linkage 180 degrees and be done with it but sadly again you can’t with the Woodcrafts unless you buy a different linkage. Another problem it had was the range of adjustability, or the lack thereof.

Enter Vortex V2 rearsets. I, again like a broken record, run them on my street bike and again they have held up to a crash a lot better than anything else I have encountered. Not to mention the VAST range of adjustability it provides. Every part on this rearset, in the event of a crash, is completely replaceable. It was a no brainer here and of course black was the color of choice.

Riders Discount was running a blowout special on the remaining V2's so I had to put in an order. It was a perfect trade for my current Woodcrafts for these.

Riders Discount was running a blowout special on the remaining V2’s so I had to put in an order. It was a perfect trade for my current Woodcrafts for these.

Much wider range of adjustability can be found with the V2 Vortex rearsets than most others.

Much wider range of adjustability can be found with the V2 Vortex rearsets than most others.

Until the next time the deliveryman comes upon the hill these will have to suffice the need to update my bike to full race trim. Next up is installing them but let’s hope for a less packed shop the next time I stop by!

Leave a Reply

