Legends Never Die: Robin Williams

When I first heard the news yesterday I was still on my shift at the restaurant leisurely scrolling through my twitter feed on my phone when I saw it:

wpid-screenshot_2014-08-12-08-20-09_1.jpg

At first I didn’t believe it considering the source, a Darth Vader parody account alongside Actor Trivia, which has proven to be not quite reliable in the past. I figured it was another death hoax like the one frequented by many of Morgan Freeman. Can’t be real. I even went as far as checking for news articles right away, still nothing. I brushed it off.

Ten minutes later I heard the ‘BREAKING NEWS’ moniker through the back of the television. As when this happens I lend one ear to the customers while the other fully tuned into what was about to come on, yet again I thought nothing of what I had seen before. I was wrong. ‘We’re sad to report the death of comedian and legend Robin Williams,’ was what they reported. Through the back of my TV set I can glaze out at my patrons and I saw nothing but sadness through the eyes of those who were paying attention. Gaping mouths, droopy eyes, just plain sadness filled the room that was just bustling. This sadness caught on its way to me. I was less jubilant than I would be for a Monday.

They deem it was a suicide, I deem the world has lost a legend.

I told everyone I knew of what happened, figuring it be better to hear from me than later on in another breaking news episode. On my drive home I recollected upon how I literally grew up with this man from my young lad days to my mid 20s. His movies encapsulated me from my childhood, through to my discovery years and even downright to my emergence as an adult.

His Many Faces

His Many Faces

From Hook to Jack, to Patch Adams & Jumanji, Good Will Hunting with Mrs. Doubtfire, Flubber & Aladdin, his movies covered the basis of my entire existence. But he just wasn’t a comedian who made for a good laugh. He made you feel, made you want to believe, made you pour your heart and soul out in his roles. This is why he is a legend. He put everything he is & was into the roles he portrayed, how many can you say does that today? How many can span over four decades & remain to touch the hearts of many from being Peter Pan, to the Genie, the clumsy Euphegenia Doubtfire, the ingenious Sean Maguire, or even the world’s greatest dad?

wpid-1407804943.jpg

Sentiment from the President

I still cannot believe he is gone. My childhood has been ripped apart, chewed up & spat out without any consideration for it, not to mention all of my peers and the countless millions other who feel the same way. He was an actor’s actor, a true genius in my eyes, a legend who will live on forever in the minds of those he touched, made laugh, gave a sense in taking life a little less serious & really put a smile on you.

Memorial in Boston Where He Sat

This scene from Good Will Hunting will forever be engraved in me and has become more evident with the passing of its speaker:

wpid-tumblr_m3bs9mf1ns1rtgfeuo1_500.gif

As I leave you today with this post I want to leave you with his excerpt from Jack that rings true and should every day we start to worry about things and where they may end up:

‘…I don’t have very much time these days so I’ll make it quick. Like my life. You know, as we come to the end of this phase of our life, we find ourselves trying to remember the good times and trying to forget the bad times, and we find ourselves thinking about the future. We start to worry , thinking, “What am I gonna do? Where am I gonna be in ten years?” But I say to you, “Hey, look at me!” Please, don’t worry so much. Because in the end, none of us have very long on this Earth. Life is fleeting. And if you’re ever distressed, cast your eyes to the summer sky when the stars are strung across the velvety night. And when a shooting star streaks through the blackness, turning night into day… make a wish and think of me. Make your life spectacular. I know I did…’

Make you life spectacular.

Leave a Reply

