Up Up & Away

I remember as a kid my very first time on an airplane was when we took a family vacation back to my parent’s home country of Vietnam, I was born in Hong Kong. I have never been on a plane prior to that, maybe because I was somewhat still in my infancy to remember anything, so as any normal child I was really excited. Thoughts upon thoughts flew through my mind about how it would be.

Ready for Take Off

Ready for Take Off

‘Where can I sit?’

‘Will the plane fly close enough by my house so I can wave to it?’

‘Will there be food?’

‘Can I see the pilot?’

By the time we took off from Logan and landed in Saigon my perception of flying has changed forever. I loved every minute of it, OK maybe aside from the 14 hour flight overseas, but everything else was a great experience. Even now I still get all giddy whenever I am about to board a flight. My game plan as always is hunker down a seat by the wing, before or after, as long as it’s in the vicinity and it has to be a window seat, has to be a window seat.

You Are Now Free Above the Clouds

You Are Now Free Above the Clouds

The rumbles of the turbines turning over, the force of takeoff as the wheels speed down the runway, angle of the nose as it starts its ascent into the sky and being pinned back into my seat while looking out the window on my way to 30,000 feet at 600 miles an hour. It makes me feel alive. You can always find me looking outside my window down below. I am also a sucker for maps and what better chance to see landscape than to be actually flying over it? There are plenty of people I know that can sleep in any situation, but I can never find myself to sleep on an airliner. Too much noise, feeling and of course when can you bet the next time a stewardess will come around with drink orders?!

Some People Just Miss All the Action

Some People Just Miss All the Action

Ladies & Gentlemen We Are About to Land

Ladies & Gentlemen We Are About to Land

My next flight won’t be until I leave for Las Vegas and you can bet I’ll be looking forward to claiming my window seat again.

Leave a Reply

