Binge Eating: The Healthy Way

I was always into fitness according to my status updates and tweets you can always find me in the gym regularly. Usually I would spend an hour four to five times a week there just working up a sweat. It was really like a second, or third home if you count my bike shop too, but a home I didn’t mind visiting at all.

It wasn’t until recently where I developed a sense of change for my health. Working out, as I realized was a great way to stay in shape, but that was it, in a shape. I didn’t feel healthier nor feel better. I had to change out my diet to compliment all the strenuous workout regimes I had put my body through.

Thus started the Meal Prep. I saw countless posts online through various social medias about meal prepping, pictures of meal prepping, how to meal prep, yadda yadda yadda. All of it honestly looked quite boring and tedious to be frank. So I never bothered. But I am glad I did!

The only downside to the meal prep really pertains to your diet, what you want to accomplish in the end game, learning how to cook and doing it in a timely manner.

For me it was simple, I wanted to shred, lose my body fat and lean out my muscles. To achieve this I pretty much limited my carbohydrate intake (sucks when you’re Asian and your meals nearly contain a rice product each time) but not completely get rid of it. In its place I added in gargantuan amounts of proteins from vegetables to fish and lean meats and my even most hated of all food, chicken.

First Go at Meal Prep: Grilled Chicken w/Grilled Asparagus & Blanched Broccoli/Cauliflower

First Go at Meal Prep: Grilled Chicken w/Grilled Asparagus & Blanched Broccoli/Cauliflower

I grew up cooking, my family owns a noodle joint, so it wasn’t that hard for me to comprehend the idea of picking up a spatula and adding oil to a frying pan (EVOO of course!) There are plenty of recipes and step by step online and even apps (I sometime uses AllTheCooks app) to learn and perfect each step. Usually my cooking only takes the better part of an hour or so, don’t worry you wont be slaving away over the stove that much!

When to cook is also important. I usually do the bulk of my shopping Sunday morning or afternoon – right before I decide to chef it up. Some food you can cook ahead of time four to five days while others are only good for two or three days to four. Make sure how long it can last while being cooked in your refrigerator. For example if it’s chicken I am cooking it can usually last all five days of the week while the lean beef I would only cook enough until Wednesday and cooking again Tuesday night for Thursday & Friday. Sacrifices I know but it’s for your health.

Leftover Edition: Skillet Grilled Top Shoulder Steak w/Spinach Whole Wheat Pasta & Blanched Broccoli & Cabbage

Leftover Edition: Skillet Grilled Top Shoulder Steak w/Spinach Whole Wheat Pasta & Blanched Broccoli & Cabbage

So whats the tradeoff? Well let me tell you! I have been doing this for a month now, usually how long it will take for the results of effects to be apparent. I feel a lot better, waking up in the morning is no longer a drag, I have garnered far more energy this early than I ever had, you also become QUITE regular if you weren’t before (which I was). My weight has relatively remained the same give or take two-three lbs fluctuation. But my physique has more or less transformed. You can tell the fat has sort of dissolved for a lack of better words and the muscles has taken their place, great trade off.

Skillet Grilled Center Cut Salmon w/Grilled Asparagus & Zucchini w/Brown Rice

Skillet Grilled Center Cut Salmon w/Grilled Asparagus & Zucchini w/Brown Rice

Eating healthy can be expensive, but not as much as spending $10+ a day for lunch alone each week. Once you learn how to buy, cook and prep your own meals you’ll wonder why you ever ate out so much before. It is also a lifestyle change, I know ‘broken record’ here, but it really is. You must commit fully to what you want to accomplish in order to see the fruits of your labor, if not then you’ll be stuck stagnant forever. Make the change, it’s worth it!

Oh never hurts to add in detox water! Simple, fun and they look great in the fridge!

Mason Jars Make Great Drink Cups!

Mason Jars Make Great Drink Cups!

Leave a Reply

