Walden Pond

I love days where you have nothing planned so anything and everything you wish to do is at your fingertips. Saturday happened to be one of those days where I had just that, nothing to do. I figured what better timing to just get lost. I ended up riding to nowhere when I found myself on 495 South heading towards Worcester before I saw the State Park sign for Walden Pond Reservation Exit 29A. Then and there my destination was picked and my getting lost adventure found a purpose.

Henry David Thoreau comes to mind whenever I think about Walden Pond. This could be the fact that he chose to live in complete isolation and a very small shack albeit could be the size of my upstairs bathroom. By today’s standards that was bold and to be quite frank something I wish I could do but can’t considering the dependence that not only I but civilization as a whole has become on modern technology.

Walden in Autumn

Bare Necessities

Upon my arrival there were many families towing their kinship along the pond’s edge but I opted for the trail. I was supposed to go hiking that day as well, but I thought this trail could suffice for my inability to want to wake up on time. It was nice; autumn in NE is great as per my last post. I walked the whole perimeter of Walden Pond only stopping a few times for long durations to enjoy the view. There were swimmers making laps in the water, a boater just puffing around in aimless circles and multitude of couples, friends and families either walking the same path as I or having small make shift picnics near the water.

I sat, watched, listened to music and reflected. I like this peace and quiet that I often don’t get so when I do I enjoy as much as possible. With the rush of a 9-5, family, friends, girlfriend and life in general it is much needed to take a breather from your own life and just not think for a few moments. The leaves hasn’t fully changed over to their great hues in MA yet so I do plan on another visit soon, maybe with a make shift picnic basket in tow next time.

IMG_20131005_151657

Summation of Walden Pond

I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived. I did not wish to live what was not life, living is so dear; nor did I wish to practice resignation, unless it was quite necessary. I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life, to live so sturdily and Spartan-like as to put to rout all that was not life, to cut a broad swath and shave close, to drive life into a corner, and reduce it to its lowest terms, and, if it proved to be mean, why then to get the whole and genuine meanness of it, and publish its meanness to the world; or if it were sublime, to know it by experience, and be able to give a true account of it in my next excursion.”
Henry David Thoreau, Walden, “Where I Lived, and What I Lived For

 

Leave a Reply

