Fall in New England

Living in New England offers you one thing nowhere else in the continental United States can, or at least to my knowledge provide anyways, that is the allure of having all four natural seasons of a year. That means spring, summer, autumn and winter in a geological 365 day rhythm. I always fancied the idea of moving out west because of ITS own allure of summer year-round but if I can be quite frank for a moment I would tremendously miss the New England autumn season way too much to want to put any more thought into that idea.

Smell that air? It’s very, very crisp. Enough to make anyone’s nose bleed, not that I wish that upon anyone but it’s one of my favorite part about fall, the clean, cold fresh air. There’s nothing like it around and I wait eagerly all year yearning for it to come around. Foliage is a great accompaniment to that crisp air. Bright reds, deep yellows and buoyant oranges purvey the landscape and forestry like no other, only a painter can try his best to relive up to nature’s own beauty.

Saturday was my chance to go and enjoy myself amongst the beauties that the NE can bring to its inhabitants and of course tourists alike. A few friends of mine and I rode ourselves some 300+ miles of back roads, highways, by-ways and side paths to enjoy the sights on two-wheels. You can imagine the sore buttocks we had achieved that day, but it was well worth the recovery. We went through the Kancamagus Highway, pass its hairpin curve, up the side of the White Mountains, through Bear Notch Road’s bumpy twisties and finally onto route 302 (my first time) which proved itself to be a fantastic sweeping 30 some odd miles of both scenery, foliage and pavement.

120 miles after departing we finally made way into Lincoln, NH. This is primarily the stop riders and car enthusiast have before attacking the Kanc. It’s filled with gas stations, stores and food eateries. As I paid for gas the attendant said ‘Fun day?’ to which I replied that we had just arrived and his response was a funny yet smile inducing one of ‘Well then the fun just started!’ I walked away happy knowing that even people up here knew why we were there, for great roads and equally great scenery.

You can tell it is us when we roll up anywhere all wearing the same t-shirt. Most people would automatically think this is an M/C or a bike gang, but to be honest we’re just a bunch of enthusiast who enjoy the ride. Other factions out there give bad names to the whole community. We’re not bad guys, we don’t bite, so come and chat!

After a long and thoroughly enjoyable ride with my friends I suggested we make a stop at Echo Lake to have some photo ops done. They have never been here and I really couldn’t believe it to be honest. It’s literally RIGHT OFF the highway. Once we got there – they we beyond themselves that something like this place was literally right there – in the middle of the mountain range.

The Steeds in the Parking Lot

The Steeds in the Parking Lot

Like Kids Again

Like Kids Again

We were some 10-13 bikers big when we rolled into the lake and one of the guys mentioned ‘This is a tough biker look, bunch of guys hanging out at a lake while riding’ I couldn’t help but laugh at that comment. To be honest that summed us up pretty well. We ride back roads, track days and drag knees but also can enjoy a scenic, laid back day of just hanging out seeing some sights.

This is the results after you set your DSLR to timed released over a few exposures too long. Some poses, some funny faces and all around spec in time.

Everyone left before I did because I wanted to stay and shoot off some pictures of the back drop, canoes, peddle boats and the lake. The sun was setting fast so I had to make haste and my results are some less than ideal shots but I liked shooting them off nonetheless.

Mountain of Echos

Mountain of Echos

Looking Onwards

Looking Onwards

Fore - Mid - Back

Fore – Mid – Back

Split the Middle

Split the Middle

Dock to the Sky

Dock to the Sky

Colors Galore

Colors Galore

To reiterate I LOVE FALL. See to it yourself that you go our and enjoy the changing of the seasons before winter settles in! After that its a dreadful few months until the life of spring comes back.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Fall in New England

  1. Great photos per usual! Dude I was just having this conversation with my friend earlier today lol. I definitely miss the fall. Sunshine year round isn’t that great. When it rained two weeks ago, I was really happy because that was the first time in almost 3 months that I’ve been here that there was a change in the weather lol.

    • Thank you! Yes I really dont know how you’re living out there without a change in weather! Must be brutal – but when winter hits here I will be the utmost envious of you!

Leave a Reply

