America The Beautiful

Summer is almost already done its course and it only seemed like last week that I have just gotten back from my tour of America. It still bewilders me that I actually took on this trek, as most times I speak of doing something big but always fall just a little bit short on accomplishing my goal, not this time.

When people around the world, and to the most part even home, think about the United States all they conjure up is New York, Texas and California. I wouldn’t blame them seeing how these three places pretty much have defined what the U.S. is to the outside world, but truly there are finer details within the lines, you just have to go looking for them. Looking for them I did.

She’s a great place to grow up in, a beautiful backdrop to call home, a wonderful environment that contains modern civilization as well as ancient practices. I always leave from time to time, but I yearn to come back to a place I call my own home. But what place is this exactly? With so much I haven’t experience in my own backyard as oppose to the time I spent traveling the world I was aghast for words.

This trip opened not only my eyes to the beauty that is my home but my heart to the people I have met, the places I have seen, the food I have eaten and the wondrous aura that comes with being home. I believe only here is where you can have a multitude of people, from different backgrounds, that can actually mesh and find out that they have more in common than they do have in their differences.

My perception of parts of this country has changed and all for the better. The south is a wonderful part to be in with their slower pace living and their enormous hospitality. It’s bar none friendlier than I could have ever imagined it would be. Texas is huge, really HUGE. But even here you can feel that blood, sweat and tears people have for the land in which they make a living feeding not only me but also their own families. You cant help but have a deep seeded appreciation for this. The west coast is completely different from where I have grew up and lived my entire life. From it’s glitzy Hollywood to the laid back nature of Nor Cal. Everything and anything from in between is here. There’s no hustling or bustling like MA or NY, they take their time, they will eventually get to where they are going so why not enjoy the great weather while getting there? That seems to be the motto and it’s a motto I can live with truly. From city to city you cant forget the natural wonder of America. From the Grand Canyon to Yosemite the natural beauty is something you need to go and witness for yourself. Pictures does not do any of it any justice. Only actually being there and taking it all in will hit you that this place we call home, is more than what we could have imagined it out to be.

Through my collection of over 1400 pictures I have taken on this trip, the next few are some of my favorite moments I am fortunate enough to capture. They don’t speak entirely for my experience, but they are a small window into the opportunity I was lucky enough to embrace.

Washington Bridge, NY

State House, Washington DC

Botanical Garden, Washington DC

Botanical Garden, Washington DC

State House, Washington DC

Washington Monument, Washington DC

World War II Memorial, Washington DC

Lincoln Memorial, Washington DC

Washington Monument, Washington DC

Charlottes, Charlotte North Carolina

Parking Meters, Charlotte North Carolina

Highway Sunset, Texas

Alien Encounter, Roswell New Mexico

Desert Sun, Arizona

Flowers, Grand Canyon Arizona

South Rim, Grand Canyon Arizona

South Rim, Grand Canyon Arizona

South Rim, Grand Canyon Arizona

Hoover Dam, Nevada

Pier 39, San Francisco California

Telescope, Pier 39, San Francisco California

Lavender, Pier 39, San Francisco California

Pink Rose, Pier 39, San Francisco California

Fort Point, Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco California

Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco California

Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco California

Take Flight, San Francisco California

West Coast Sunset, San Francisco California

Tetana Lake, Yosemite California

North Arch, Moab Utah

South Arch, Moab Utah

Vista Point, Colorado

Willis Tower, Chicago Illinois

Botanical Garden, Chicago Illinois

Botanical Garden, Chicago Illinois

Botanical Garden, Chicago Illinois

Water Fountain, Chicago Illinois

Water Fountain, Chicago Illinois

Willis Tower Backdrop, Chicago Illinois

Millennium Park, Chicago Illinois

Navy Pier Skyline, Chicago Illinois

Canal Water Way, Chicago Illinois

Niagara Falls NY

Lovers On Moonlight Bay, Niagara Falls NY

Crowds, Niagara Falls NY

I never felt I was truly far from home, that was until I found myself in Louisiana. It was here that my sense of being lost took over along with my yearning for adventure. My trip is over and it’s safe to say I miss being back out there on the road.

She’s beautiful, more so than anything I have ever gotten the chance to experience during my short stay on this earth. I have a renewed sense of appreciation for the land I call my home.

No matter how far I travel away from you, I will always find my way back home.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

