Are You the Fastest??

After watching Faster during the winter of last year I was ever more enticed into the world of motorcycle racing. When news o the new documentary, Fastest, surfaced I was again overwhelmed with happiness in anticipation of its release.

I literally just finished watching it for the second time on my flight back from Mexico and all I have to say is ‘THIS WAS AMAZING!’ It tops the last one and then some! I have never been more excited to get on my motorcycle and head to the racetracks in my life.

They hit on everything in this one, following a similar format as to the last documentary. Here are some of the things I absolutely thought they did a fantastic job.

I didn’t think they could get anyone better than Ewan McGregor to narrate this film, as he also did the first one, Faster. His voice draws you into the excitement and suspense as to what will happen next in the season. Even if you have already seen the races, know the results and the upsets, his narration still lures you in and keeps you on the edge of your seat. It doesn’t hurt that he is also an avid motorcyclist. I really thought that was a nice touch on the director casting him for the part indeed. Besides who doesn’t want Obi Wan Kenobi talk about motorcycles?!

The music was intense to say the least. I am glad they strayed away from song choices that had lyrics, although there’s nothing wrong with that at all. The instrumentals that were chosen did get the blood pumping, the fog of suspense building and the triumph of victories. It adds a nice subtle touch to what is going on on-screen and helps with the story telling.

Now my favorite part as we are all waiting for is how they portrayed Valentino Rossi. I’m an avid fan of him, his riding style, and victory celebrations and overall showmanship but man the job they did to portray him over the last two seasons was just phenomenal to say the least. From his rise of defeat in 2006 and 2007 to Nicky Hayden and Casey Stoner to back to back championship titles of 2008 and 2009, his tremendous start in early 2010 to his ultimate test of his mental and physical abilities with his crash in early on that sidelined him. These moments in time adds perfectly to show that he is a god in racing but also his vulnerability that he now displays because of his injury. They showed how his comeback only 6 weeks after his injury was one to be noted. He will not leave motorcycle racing nor will he be sitting at home to be second best to his teammate of all people. Although he finished third in the 2010 season the image has been planted in our minds that Valentino is back and with a new team in Ducati he will again make a campaign to his 8th World Title in the premier class as well as to beat Giacomo Agostini’s 122 wins in the premier class. Seriously I cannot wait for the 2012 season to begin!

These main bits and pieces were what I really enjoyed about this new film but there were other parts that were not only enjoyable but also very informative to the newbie MotoGP fans as well as anyone who never knew ‘this’ or ‘that’ about the racing world. They brought up the specs of the bikes, the crashes, as well as the unfortunate ones that ends in the death of a racer (its just a facet of racing that will always be present, R.I.P. to the fallen riders), how the riders feel when they ride and even some technical aspects.

I highly suggest watching this film even if you are not a racing fan; it’s a good watch for anyone. As I have said earlier this film has gotten me so juiced and amped to ride that I cannot wait until the dead of winter is long gone and hop over my bike.

I think I will watch it again now!

2 responses to “Are You the Fastest??

Leave a Reply

